top of page

Well + Good: This Is How Often You Should Be Washing Your Pillows, Because Dust Mites Love Them

Maeve shares her tip for how often to wash pillows to keep them dust-mite free.



 



KARA JILLIAN BROWN‧FEBRUARY 2, 2020


Okay, so, confession time: I don’t think I’ve ever washed my pillows. Like, ever. I sometimes give ’em a good spray of Lysol when my sheets are in the wash, but other than that, they don’t get any attention. I’ve never considered the fact that they even needed washing—am I disgusting? The answer is yes. According to Lindsey Boyd and Gwen Whiting, cofounders of The Laundress, you should apparently be washing your pillows every few months.

...

For pillows made of natural fibers like down, fiberfill, feathers, or synthetic blends, Boyd says you should pretreat any oil-based stains, like makeup. She recommends using The Laundress Wash & Stain Bar ($6), along with cool water to wet and work a lather into the area. Maeve Richmond, founder of home organizational company Maeve’s Method, previously told Well+Good that dish soap is great for removing oil-based stains. “Dish soap is designed to gently break down oils to help get things clean.”

6 views0 comments
Featured
Featured

Naturally.

About Me

SALE

Video Channel Name

Video Channel Name

Watch Now
bottom of page